This is the "Guide" page of the "Great Expectations & Victorian England" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Great Expectations & Victorian England  

A guide for research projects on Victorian England, based on a LibGuide by Sarah Hamilton of Oak Ridge High School
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2015 URL: http://foxborough.libguides.com/victorian Print Guide RSS Updates
Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citing Sources

Databases and eBooks often provide the article citation or a citation generator; websites usually don't. One easy way to cite websites, curate bibliographies, and manage project notes is to use EasyBib.com.

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.

Online Databases

Websites

  • SweetSearch
    A search engine for students conducting research.
  • Victorian Society
    Includes info on fashion, women’s roles, home life, recreation, and the Great Exhibition
  • The Victorian Web
    Created by George P. Landow, a professor of English and Art History at Brown University. Includes information on political history, social history, men and women’s roles, philosophy, religion, science, technology, literature and authors, the arts, and more.
  • BBC Overview of Victorian England
    From British Broadcasting Channel, this site offers a wonderful overview of the Era. Be sure to search for your specific topic on BBC’s page.
  • PBS Queen Victoria's Empire
    Based on a PBS program, the website provides a history of her reign, a closer look at Queen Victoria herself, a reflection upon the Empire and its changes, and the secrets of the Empire.
  • Victorian England: an introduction
  • History in Focus: The Victorian Era
    National Archives (UK’s) provides this overview of the time period with a look at social issues, transportation, and much more.
  • Victorian Britain
    National Archives (UK’s) provides this overview of the time period with a look at social issues, transportation, and much more.
  • Victorian Station
    Covers architecture, home life, arts, literature and royalty.
  • Victorian Studies
    A journal first published in 1956 out of Indiana University, Victorian Studies is devoted to the study of the Victorian period in England. Click on the “Search Journal” tab to look for your topic.
  • The British Monarch: Queen Victoria
    The official website of the British Monarchy provides biographical information about Queen Victoria and her reign and includes excerpts from her diaries.
  • A Victorian - Extensive study of Victorian England
    An extensive website full of information on Victorian England put together by one individual.
  • Victorian Women Photograph Collection
    Roger Vaughan’s personal Victorian photograph collection of Victorian women and their fashions.
  • Victorian Art & Artists
    Bob Speel’s website listing Victorian painters, reproduction images, and an exhibit of paintings by women artists.
  • The Industrial Revolution and the Railway System
    Created by a Mt. Holyoke student, this site combines original research with images, excerpts, and articles all related to Victorian railways, culled from the Illustrated London News.
  • English money before 1971
    Created and maintained by a teacher at Woodlands Junior School, Kent, UK.
  • The English Penal System
    This site contains an online digitized collection resource of over 5000 items, brought to you by the National Maritime Museum and local London libraries and archives who have worked to open up their collections.
  • The Workhouse
    Website devoted to the Victorian institution of “The Workhouse”, a place where the poor lived and worked.
  • Victorian Crime and Punishment
    Published by the East of England Broadcast Network, Cambridgeshire County Council, and the Bedfordshire County Council.
 

Google Books



Google Scholar



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip